How to leave a Slack workspace (web client)

If you try to permanently exit a Slack workspace, the UI can feel like one of the more difficult escape rooms of the Internet. Here is how you quit a workspace for good in the web client as of January 2021.

The key is to get to your Account Settings. You can access them directly here: https://slack.com/account/settings If you can login successfully (good luck!), select your workspace and proceed to step 3.

Alternatively, if you are already signed into your workspace, click through UI:

Step 1

Click your user icon in the top right corner and select “View profile”

Step 2

Click the “…” button and choose “Account settings”

Step 3

In your account settings, scroll down and “Deactivate your account”. Make sure the correct workspace name appears in the description!

Step 4

This will only deactivate your account for this particular workspace, because Slack creates a new account for each workspace.

Step 5

Done!

Hope this helps somebody.

designs, codes, likes the web.